Skip to content

baby things to think about on the beach

January 10, 2010

As some of you know, Holly and I are off to Maui for a few days of relax and recharge … the holiday season at Dee-O-Gee was very consuming (not that we are complaining, we are super blessed to have been very busy this holiday season) and we are looking forward to some down-time to refocus and plan for future things.  Some have called this trip a “babymoon”.  I think that is appropriate.

Part of “relax and recharge” is simply sitting at Maui’s fabulous Kaanapali beach (please reference pictures above) and … well, that’s it, sitting there!  After a few days of this, we will probably start talking to each other 🙂 … at which time, we will presumably sense the need to have some baby-related discussions.  The little guy arrives in less than 4 months … holy crap!

So, my question for you is this: what should we talk about?

While we have both been fortunate to have wonderful parents and good examples to follow, we haven’t been parents before (excluding Jericho); so, I am wondering what we should be thinking about?  There is definitely some wisdom out there reading this blog post … please send some of that parenting wisdom our way.   What haven’t we thought of yet?  Is painting the baby room really that big of a deal?  Cloth diapers, any suggestions?  Do we really need a baby wipe warmer?  Should I get a “man boob” like on Meet the Fockers? … just kidding on that one!

Please post your thoughts and advice, we’ll contemplate them while sipping a mai tai (Holly’s will be non-alcoholic, don’t worry).

Mahalo!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. alexis permalink
    January 10, 2010 4:35 am

    Skip the wipe warmer…they start fires and unless your house is fridgid…your little babe wont mind too bad. We agreed before the baby was born that durring night feedings…although, I would be doing the feeding, that Clint would still get up and help my by changing the diaper and getting me a glass of water or whatever I needed before he went back to bed. We did this until Clint had to go back to work and then on Weekend. It was so great and it really made us a great team.
    Discuss new chore duties. I know Holly is super woman but you may need to redistribute the houshold fun 🙂 Clint is now the bathroom cleaning expert. He is far better than me.
    Have the best time ever. Clint and I will be just here in Montana frezzing and pasty white.

  2. Kris Griffin permalink
    January 10, 2010 1:24 pm

    Love your posts! You are too funny and you just have a great way with with words! Most important advice of all….. Always take the time to communicate and come to one mind before you make a decision for your child’s life.(even small ones) It’s so important to start the habit when they are babies because if you wait to establish your ground rules for relating until they are two or three, they are aware of and going for the “divide and conquer strategy” and then it is almost too late. (BTW. They perfect “divide and conquer” by the teen years.) You need to establish the firm habit of going to ya’lls room, talking and making a decision, and then presenting a united front to your child. Then, even if its the “wrong” decision, you guys are in it together!
    In our family counseling this is one of the biggest problems we see. One parent falls into the role of “nice guy” or “yes man” and the other becomes the “mean guy or disciplinarian”. That then becomes a wedge in the parent’s relationship and leads to the breakdown of the family. Our motto: “One heart and one mind!”

  3. Martin permalink
    January 10, 2010 5:32 pm

    Josh,
    I have recommended that Holly sneak up on you while you are sleeping and pull the covers back then run a wet chilled washcloth down your back. This will help you think clearly about the baby wipe warmer.

  4. Jan permalink
    January 12, 2010 7:12 pm

    About the rocking chair……. with no kids, I can only speak from my experience as a child. My Mom sat with us all the time, rocking us. It is one of my favorite memories and my Mom said it was one of her favorite things, too. She rocked us when we were babies until we were too big to sit on her lap. So I don’t know if it is a necessity for calming a crying baby or making things easier, but as I think back, it is one thing that has stuck with me and my Mom.

  5. Rachel permalink
    January 12, 2010 7:22 pm

    Hey guys,

    Super excited for you. I think you can get all the advice in the world, and it comes down to doing what you think is best for your baby. Someone once told me, “Kids are like pancakes…you always screw up the first one.” haha! In all seriousness though, it’s about embracing who you are as individuals and bringing those qualities together to make the best life for your baby. You can read every single book and compare yourself to every parent out there, but at the end of the day, this is your journey and your baby.

    It’s so easy to feel overwhelmed and question yourself because in reality, parenthood is the biggest job you’ll ever come across in your lifetime. I wanted to share this with you guys…mainly Holly because it deals with motherhood.

    http://johnson-familylove.blogspot.com/2009/09/embracing-imperfections.html

    Many Blessings,
    Rachel

  6. Tawnya permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:09 pm

    These are great things to think about! Especially who does what around the house after baby comes home. You’ll be knocked off balance when you bring baby home & it’ll take several months to get any sense of balance back!
    For at least the first 3 months, our house was a disaster & most the time I barely got dinner on the table (often eating it cold because that’s when the baby would want to eat too!) You just have to realize that it’s OK, they are only newborns for a short time.
    Talk about where baby will sleep when you bring him home. Zach was in his own room and I was SO exhausted all the time! The next 3 we had in our room until they were around 8 months…you would not believe how much more rested I was & I had other kids too!!!
    You will be amazed at how well you know your baby after such a short time! You guys will be great parents!!

  7. Jennifer permalink
    January 13, 2010 12:05 am

    I think it’s great that you both want other peoples advice that just goes to show how great of parents you will be. Although you will get more advice than you wanted to begin with.
    I think one of the things that I wish someone would have mentioned to me is how important it is not to forget the Holly and Josh time. It takes a while to get a schedule down and be comfortable with other people around your child but don’t forget date night once you two are comfortable. I also suggest writing all the firsts and memorable things on your calendar on the fridge then later (a year down the line for me) write them all in your baby book. This saves time! I have so much more advice but it all comes down to whatever you both get comfortable with doing. You will both be great parents don’t worry about a thing.

  8. Katie permalink
    January 18, 2010 11:10 pm

    My advice is to get the book “Baby Bargains.” It tells you what you need, what you don’t need, and it ranks things based upon safety and affordability. It was a lifesaver for this first time mom! I would give you ours, but I have already passed that jewel on to another expectant mommy. I hope you guys have a great time in Hawaii!

Leave a comment